When the Methodist congregation was founded in the early 1830s, Tenleytown was just beginning to develop as a crossroads village on the road from Frederick and Rockville to the port at Georgetown. The present 1926 church is the congregation’s fourth and grandest building on the site purchased in 1840. Designed by Howard W. Cutler, the Spanish style structure features a textured stucco exterior, variegated red tile roof, picturesque corner bell tower, and elaborate portals. Above the main entrance portal, the large bas-relief window surround in the florid Churrigueresque style of the early 18th century Spanish Baroque is perhaps unique in Washington.
DC designation April 24, 2008
National Register listing September 5, 2008