The Spencer Carriage House and Stable was constructed in 1905 to serve as a carriage house, stable and servants' quarters for the residence of railroad executive Samuel Spencer. The building is a free-standing, two-story brick structure measuring 35' wide by 110' long. The building is set upon a raised brick foundation delineated by a brick water table and capped by a shallow hipped slate roof, topped by two picturesque cupolas. The building has regularly spaced window and door openings on the four elevations.
Although vernacular in design, the two-story brick structure is imposing in size and scale, and displays handsome proportions and detailing. While designed and executed as a single unit, the building is separated by a fireproof party wall. The eastern portion of the building functioned as the stable, with feed storage on the second floor; the western portion served as the carriage house, with servants' rooms on the second floor. These divisions are no longer evident on the interior, as it has been heavily altered since its conversion to a
The Spencer Carriage House and Stable was constructed in 1905 for Samuel Spencer by Washington builder John McGregor. Spencer earned his fortune in railroads, and served as president of the Southern Railroad Company. In 1903, he purchased a house at 2012 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W. from the family of the original owner, Joseph Beale. Spencer then purchased the unimproved alley lot in Twining Court, located one and one-half blocks from his new mansion, and hired master builder John McGregor to design and construct the carriage house and stable. The permit for the building was issued on June 5, 1905. The estimated cost of construction was $11,000. When completed, the stable was connected to the house by telephone, allowing the Spencer family to call a driver when needed.