The twelve beehive kilns which currently exist on the site present a well-integrated and visually-unique setting, one reminiscent of a form of manufacture now quite rare. Almost Byzantine in flavor, the earthen-toned kilns and their tall stacks achieve a cohesive strength through their similarity of construction and design. The only interruptions within the kiln complex have occurred as a result of the deterioration and demolition of three structures. The demolition was brought about the widening of New York Avenue which borders dangerously close to many of the industrial structures.
All twelve kilns exhibit the same basic method of construction. The circular walls are made of common, extruded brick, lined on the interior with a heat-resistant firebrick. The walls of ten of the kilns are accented along the periphery by twelve arched fireboxes. These have all been infilled, signifying a change in fuel type from coal to oil. Thw two kilns expressly designed for oil heat (post 1939) do not exhibit these arches.
Built c. 1927‑31
National Register: October 3, 1978
DC Inventory: March 3, 1979