Built in 1916, this large and elaborately detailed Italian Renaissance Revival firehouse exemplifies grand civic design executed under the direction of the Office of Municipal Architect. The building stands as the longtime home of the city's most prestigious firefighting unit, charged with protection of the Capitol. The first company was organized in 1806 as the Columbia Volunteer Fire Company. The structure is attributed to either Donn & Deming or Leon Dessez at 3 stories tall. The buff brick exterior is detailed with heavily rusticated limestone trim, pedimented windows, and a red tile pent roof.
Today, the engine company building serves as the DC Fire and EMS Museum.
DC Inventory: December 8, 1994