Strong John Thomson School was built in 1910 by Marsh & Peter, one of the city’s most prominent architectural firms during the first two decades of the twentieth century. It highlights the firm’s significant contribution to the design of public schools.
The school was built in direct response to the 1908 Report of the Schoolhouse Commission that addressed a two-year study of schoolhouse construction across the country and made recommendations for modernizing the D.C. Public School system. This building showcased the latest trends in technology and educational planning. A third story was added in 1924.
The school is named for Strong John Thomson, a prominent educator in Washington DC from the 1850s to the 1870s.
DC Inventory: July 26, 2001