Engine Company 21/Truck Company 9 is located at the middle of the long block of Lanier Place, N.W. in the Lanier Heights neighborhood in northwest Washington, D.C. Constructed in 1908, the dual engine company and truck company firehouse is designed in a picturesque Spanish Mission Revival style characterized by its stucco wall surfaces, its campanile and its Moorish front gable. The building is set upon a low brick foundation, is covered with a red tile roof and other than the off-center hose tower, has a symmetrical arrangement of window and door openings. The design of the firehouse is attributed to Appleton P. Clark, but it may have been the result of a collaboration with James G. Hill, the architect of the Ontario Apartments located in proximity to the firehouse.
The firehouse was originally built to accommodate both the engine company and the truck company, which are both still quartered there today. In 1975, the firehouse had become deteriorated and was slated for demolition. However, the neighborhood successfully halted the demolition, petitioning the city to rehabilitate the building. Although the interior was completely gutted, the exterior was restored and the building survives as a notable and familiar neighborhood landmark.
DC designation June 23, 2005
National Register listing July 27, 2007