The President's House, erected between 1867 and 1868 and designed by F.C. Withers, is separated from a row of three High Victorian Gothic Revival Professors' Houses by a circular drive and from the academic and administrative buildings of Gallaudet University but a large green. The house is oriented so that its main facade faces north toward the faculty houses. Most of the buildings on the campus visible from the President's House were designed by F.C. Withers and were built between 1867 and 1885.
The house is very suburban or rural in character, which suited Gallaudet's originally suburban location in the 1860s. The building's design is in the mid-19th-century Downing tradition of a dwelling with informal landscaping, picturesque features, and an open plan. There are also features characteristic of post-Civil War architecture.
DC Inventory: November 8, 1964 (Joint Committee on Landmarks)
National Register: February 15, 1974
Within Gallaudet College Historic District