National Archives

The Archives building, occupied in 1935, is the repository of the most valuable and rare documents of the United States and also serves as a reference library.

Although a bill to create the office of the U.S. Archivist was first submitted in 1930, Congress did not establish the National Archives as an independent executive agency until 1934, at which time Dr. R.D.W. Conner was appointed Archivist by President Roosevelt.

The National Archives houses many of the founding documents of the United States, including the Constitution, the Declaration of Independence, and the Bill of Rights, which are on display in the main exhibition hall. Researchers are also able to view documents belonging to the National Archives in the Research Room. 

The seventh building to be constructed in the Federal Triangle from 1931-1937, the Archives Building is a monumental structure designed in the 20th century neoclassical manner by John Russell Pope. The Archives Building occupies a dominant position in the Federal Triangle as a focal point on the 8th Street axis between the National Portrait Gallery and the Smithsonian American Art Museum (Old Patent Office) to the north and the Hirshhorn Gallery to the south.

DC Inventory: November 8, 1964
National Register: May 27, 1971



Between 8th Street and Pennsylvania Avenue, NW