Engine Company No. 26
Engine Company No. 26 took advantage of larger suburban building lots and new automotive apparatus technologies in the interwar period.
In 1940, Old Engine Company No. 26 moved in with Truck Company No. 15 at 1340 Rhode Island Avenue NE, when a restructuring of the fire department led to the disposal of redundant stations. The combined branches became known as Engine Company No. 26, nestled between Brentwood and Brookland.
Designed by Municipal Architect Nathan Wyeth (1870-1963) in 1936, Engine Company No. 26 is in the Colonial Revival style. The Commission of Fine Arts preferred this sort of one-story "bungalow" for neighborhood government buildings. This is consistent with other interwar firehouses that took advantage of larger suburban building lots and new automotive apparatus technologies.
Nominated by the Capital Fire Museum
DC Inventory: February 24, 2011
National Register: May 18, 2011