Rock Creek Park Historic District

The Rock Creek Park Historic District is located in the northwest quadrant of Washington, DC, and lies entirely within the District of Columbia.

The core of Rock Creek Park historic district is the creek and its picturesque gorgelike scenery. Particularly impressive is a one mile stretch of rapids and a rocky stream bed immediately south of Military Road. In contrast to the bold and picturesque valley core, Rock Creek Park also has gentle sloping hills and grassy meadows.

Established 1890
Contains nine contributing buildings and 22 structures and objects dating from c.1791-1941

Buildings and Structures: Peirce Coach House (Art Barn; c. 1810, 1936), Peirce Mill (1820/29; see separate listing), Linnaean Hill and three outbuildings (1823; see separate listing), Peirce Springhouse (1829; see separate listing); Joaquin Miller Cabin (1883, relocated 1912; see separate listing). Peirce Mill Dam (1904-05), Park Police Substation (1935-36), Jules Jusserand Memorial (1936)

Roads: Beach Drive (1897-1900), Ridge (Glover) Road (1899-1901), Wise Road (1900), Ross Drive (1902-03), Milkhouse Ford (1904), Morrow Drive (1911), Sherrill Drive (1921-25), Bingham Drive (1921-25), Joyce Road (1921-25)

Bridges: Peirce Mill Bridge (1872, altered 1895 and 1921), Grant Road Bridge (ca. 1898), Boulder Bridge (1901-03; W.J. Douglas, architect; NR listing March 20, 1980), Ross Drive Bridge (1907/68; NR listing March 20, 1980), Sixteenth Street Bridge (1907-10; see Bibliography: Goode, Washington Sculpture), Pinehurst Bridge (1910-11, altered 1958), Morrow Drive Bridge (1911), Old Military Road Bridge (1929), Lyons Mill Bridge (1932), Rapids Footbridge (1934-35), Rolling Meadow Bridge (1934-35), Riley Spring Bridge (1934-35), Boundary Bridge (1934-35), Bluffs Bridge (1934-35)

Piney Branch Parkway: Added 1924; roadway built 1935

DC Inventory: November 8, 1964
National Register: October 23, 1991;

Images

Map