American Revolution Statuary

This collection of heroic outdoor statues commemorates figures of the American Revolutionary War.

The American Revolution Statuary collection includes 14 monuments of figures from the Revolutionary War, consisting of war heros, political leaders, and European supporters of the patriot cause.

View all 14 monuments here.

Strategically placed in public parks, the pedestrian and equestrian statues are executed in the realistic style popular after the Civil War and mostly rendered in bronze with classical bases.

Most statues were authorized and predominantly paid for by Congress during the late 19th and early 20th centuries. They now form part of DC's large collection of 19th and 20th century monuments by noted American and foreign sculptors, exemplifying the use of the nation's capital as a commemorative setting. The statues are currently owned by the National Park Service. 

DC Inventory: March 3, 1979
National Register: July 14, 1978