Federal Triangle Historic District

Federal Triangle is large complex composed of many buildings which symbolize the tremendous growth of the Federal government in the 20th century.

The first of the Triangle's buildings, the Romanesque-Revival Old Post Office, was constructed in 1891-1899. The Neo-Classical Beaux Arts District Building followed in 1904-1908.

Tthe bulk of the area's buildings and its overall design were developed between 1928 and 1938 under the direction of a consultant board of architects to Secretary of the Treasury Andrew Mellon, popularly known as the Mellon Board. Designed by the leading architects of the period, the Mellon Board's handsome Neo-Classical ensemble consists of nine enormous federal buildings constructed around a series of outdoor plazas and inner courts. It is this country's most imposing example of the monumental civic center concept, a planning ideal in the early decades of the twentieth century.

DC listing: March 7, 1968
National Register eligible
Within Pennsylvania Avenue NHS
US ownership

The buildings found within Federal Triangle boundary are:

Old Post Office: Built 1891-99 (Willoughby J. Edbrooke, architect); see separate listing
District Building: Built 1904-08 (Cope and Stewardson, architects); see separate listing
Commerce Building: Built 1927-32 (York and Sawyer, architects)
Post Office Department: Built 1931-34 (Delano and Aldrich, architects)
Labor Department, Interstate Commerce Commission, and Departmental Auditorium: Built 1931-35 (Arthur Brown, architect)
Grand Plaza and Great Circle
Internal Revenue Service: Built 1927-35 (Louis Simon, architect)
Justice Department: Built 1931-35 (Zantzinger, Borie and Medary, architects)
National Archives: Built 1931-37 (John Russell Pope, architect); see separate listing
Federal Trade Commission: Built 1937-38 (Bennett, Parsons and Frost, architects)



Between 15th Street, Constitution, and Pennsylvania Avenues, NW